Mateo gets glove love with Fielding Bible award


Orioles shortstop Jorge Mateo was not deemed worthy of being a finalist for a Rawlings Gold Glove in the American League, a snub that drew attention inside and out. outside the organization. It dazzled and was refused.

If that stung Mateo, he was soothed yesterday with the news that he was receiving a Fielding Bible Award as the best defensive shortstop in the majors.

In both leagues. One shortstop is selected based on a statistical analysis of sabermetric-prone reporters and other staff, and that’s Mateo.

The Baseball Info Solutions press release included this passage about Mateo:

Jorge Mateo was instrumental in the Orioles’ resurgence, finishing third among shortstops with 14 defensive points saved and tied for second in good field plays with 28. He led all shortstops in converting 72 % of his double play opportunities. He is the Orioles’ first shortstop to win the award.

It dates back to 2006, in case you were wondering about Luis Aparicio, Mark Belanger and Cal Ripken Jr.

If you’re wondering about Jackie Gutiérrez, please show up at the door.

JJ Hardy didn’t win one. Adam Everett was the first, followed by Troy Tulowitzki in 2007, Jimmy Rollins in 2008, Jack Wilson in 2009, Tulowitzki in 2010-11, Brendan Ryan in 2012, Andrelton Simmons in 2013-18, Nick Ahmed in 2019, Javier Báez in 2020 and Carlos Correa in 2021.

Six shortstops received first-place votes this year. Mateo edged Miguel Rojas of the Marlins by two points to claim his first prize.

Rookie Adley Rutschman was second among receivers behind Jose Trevino of the Yankees. Austin Hays finished third among left fielders, with Guardians rookie Steven Kwan the only unanimous winner. Ramón Urías finished sixth among third basemen, with the award going to Cardinals’ Nolan Arenado for the fifth time, the most for any player at that position. Cedric Mullins finished 10th among center backs, with Guardians’ Myles Straw finishing first.

A panel of 15 baseball “experts” managed the voting, ranking the top 10 players at each defensive position, including a spot for multi-position players, on a scale of 1-10. A vote for first place counted for 10 points, second-place as nine, third as eight, etc.

None of the 2021 winners repeated this year.

The voting committee consisted of SIS President John Dewan and baseball statistics pioneer Bill James, along with Emma Baccellieri (Sports Illustrated), Dan Casey (SIS), Chris Dial (sabermetrician), Alyson Footer (MLB. com), Peter Gammons (The Athletic), Moses Massena (MLB Network), Eduardo Pérez (ESPN), Hal Richman (Strat-O-Matic), Travis Sawchik (The Score), Bobby Scales (SIS), Joe Sheehan (writer longtime), Mark Simon (SIS), and the staff of SIS Video Scout.

Urías and Mullins are finalists for the Gold Glove Award. However, Mateo lost to Xander Bogaerts of the Red Sox, Carlos Correa of ​​the Twins and Jeremy Peña of the Astros.

Peña’s seven strikeouts above average lead the finalists. Mateo ranked first in the league with 11.

But whatever.

The day before the World Series must be the dumping ground for the awards.

Manager Brandon Hyde received the Sporting News honor in the American League. Rutschman and outfielder Anthony Santander are finalists for a Silver Slugger Award in the AL. Rutschman is a finalist for Outstanding Rookie in the AL in the Players Choice Awards, and Hall of Famer Brooks Robinson is a finalist for the Curt Flood Award.

Félix Bautista is a finalist for the best entry by a closer. Nick Vespi is a finalist for best hair.

OK, not really, but I’ll check later this morning.

Source link

Comments are closed.